August 6 – “Mom, Rest In Peace”

Today, the inevitable text arrived from my wife.

“Your mom passed away peacefully this morning. She is now with you on the trail.”

 I solemnly walked along struggling to find the energy to keep going. I needed to sit down and sort out my feelings. It was getting close to noon and this amazing spot was right in front of me. I knew this is where I needed to be!


​I’ll always remember Mom singing in church. As a small child, I would ask her what song she was going to sing. I dreaded when she would say, “Is that the lights of home”. My response was always, “Will cry. Will cry.” Sure enough, Dad would head to the piano and Mom would walk up to the pulpit. As soon as I heard that beautiful melancholy voice, I would lose it…every time! I can still hear her singing that song as if it was yesterday.

It’s only fitting to sign off today with the words from the chorus. Mom, this was your song!.

 
Is that the lights 

Of home I see 

Do I feel a breeze 

From the crystal sea 

Is that the Lord standing 

High on heaven’s balcony 

If that’s the lights of home

It’s a welcome sight to see

 
Mom, Rest In Peace

Kevbo out. 

20 thoughts on “August 6 – “Mom, Rest In Peace”

  1. Eddie

    Condolences (trail dad). I know how hard this time of loss can be (first hand). I am sure you will have time with her on your way to Canada. She raised a good son. 👍🏻

    Like

  2. Ralph

    Kevin:
    I am so sorry to hear that your loss occurred while you were on the trail. My prayers are with you as usual. If you need to talk please call me. I’ll be flying to New York in the morning back next to visit my daughter Back next Tuesday but please call me if you need some support.

    Like

  3. Kirk

    Kevin, my condolences. As you mentioned in a previous post, you now have two Angels accompanying you on your journey to keep you company, guide you, give you strength in times of need and to be there with you when you just need to talk. They, like the rest of us, are very proud of what you are doing. Stay strong and be safe. God bless.

    Kirk

    Like

  4. Chris Moruza

    What a beautiful memory and way to honor your mother, Kevin. Our bodies pass away, but love never dies. Thank you for sharing.

    Like

  5. GARY

    Kevbo:
    My deepest and sincerest condolences. I was glad to have met your Mom on several occasions, she was a sweetheart! Our thoughts and prayers are with you.
    She will now be your Trail Angel.
    Love, Gary , Pam and Paige

    Like

  6. Kevin, we are so sorry to hear this news. Your Dad was not at the apartment building when we delivered meals-on-wheels last week and we just learned he was with your siblings and your Mom. You sure left a beautiful tribute and memory of your Mom! You are one tough dude to keep doing what you are doing!! Mom is smiling down:)

    Like

  7. John

    Kevin, Just wanted to express our sincerest and deepest condolences on the loss of your mother. Our thoughts and prayers are with you and the entire Hall family. Stay strong ! — The Parisi family

    Like

  8. Judy and Jim

    Kevin,
    Judy and I were saddened to hear the passing of your Mom. Although expected the reality is always difficult. I’m sure the memories will inspire you the motivation needed to complete this amazing journey.
    Love,
    Jim and Judy

    Like

Leave a Reply

