May 16 – Day 23. “What was I thinking!”

Miles 25
PCT mile. 364.4

Epic mistake in my resupply strategy!  
I had sent about 6 days of food to Cajon Pass fully expecting to be on the trail for the next 112 miles. What I didn’t realize was the enormity of the climbs that were ahead of me. To start, there is a 22 1/2 mile, 5,000 foot, climb requiring me to carry, at least, 5 1/2 L of water to get me through the day. That’s about 13 pounds. Now add my 8 pounds of food and we’re over 20 lbs!  

I ate breakfast at the Best Western at 6am and went back to my room for my pack. Uh Oh! I put on my pack and my arches began to cave. I knew that I had made a big mistake. My pack was easily over 40 pounds!  


Back on the trail, I was so frustrated and mad at myself but there was nothing I could do. How did I miss the Wrightwood resupply 27 miles ahead of me? I had enough food to get me there! I was so pissed at myself. I just kept telling myself, “You’re upping your game”. It wasn’t working very well. I even chuckled to myself, “Dude, you used to weigh this much without your pack!”.  It still wasn’t working.

Why can’t our bodies live on Rice Krispies and Cheese Puffs instead of this dense water that I’m carrying? Jeez, it’s heavy!


I started a new Audible book and tried to lose myself. Instead of listening to the words, the narrator would take a breath every other sentence and that’s all I could hear. 


There’s some good news here. This section is normally very hot. Today, it was extremely cool.

A little after 5 PM, I could see that I was only about 3 miles from the Guffy campground. I had finally reached the top, and the trail got a little flatter. I could make it by 6:30. Dig deep and keep going! 

I made it! The wind was howling and the temp was 39°. I looked around for some shelter to set up my tent. By the time I was done, my fingers were frozen. I hastily made a dinner, and it was off to bed. 
I looked at my Garmin mileage. I had carried that pack for 25 miles and 11 1/2 hours. 
The good news is that I had an extreme workout!

Kevbo out!

6 thoughts on “May 16 – Day 23. “What was I thinking!”

  1. Rebecca Hall

    You crazy!!!! 🙂

    On Wed, May 17, 2017 at 5:43 PM, Hiking with Kevbo wrote:

    > Kevin posted: “Miles 25 PCT mile. 364.4 Epic mistake in my resupply > strategy! I had sent about 6 days of food to Cajon Pass fully expecting > to be on the trail for the next 112 miles. What I didn’t realize was the > enormity of the climbs that were ahead of me. To ” >

    Like

  2. William Ikard

    What a book this will make! Great reading and keep them coming! best book I have read in a long time. Proud of you!!!

    Like

  3. Monica Marie

    The trail will continue to humble you… be kind to yourself. You’re doing AWESOME Kevbo! I’m sending strength and great vibes from Ashland!

    Like

Leave a Reply

